EISENBERGER

About the Film

Synopsis

Art is merely a label of no relevance according to the artist Christian Eisenberger. At the age of 40 he has created over 45,000 works. He deposited thousands of them on streets and squares, where anyone could gather them up. He defies galleries, art fairs and museums with his unrestrained production. His art runs rampant, eluding all control. In a milieu that desperately struggles for attention and recognition, Eisenberger again and again asks, "What really constitutes artistic freedom? And does it require artists at all?”

Protagonists

Ca5a6de1 7bc1 4503 a99c 1e8943a3d092?width=1000

Christian Eisenberger

The Austrian artist on the question: What is art?

«Art is just a societal pretext. We have art, we have religion. We have this category, that category and the other category. But everyone wants to deconstruct those categories.»

http://christianeisenberger.com

55706c6b bd6a 4d75 b65e fdc1fd82ee12?width=1000

Hermann Glettler, Bishop

«He once said: "I want to consciously miss everything here for 40 days". It is the opposite position to the demand to live events and experiences, in which we are all caught up in and are driven by. He did not design this action as a religious act, but it automatically had great spiritual depth. He represents the many individuals who are always running around — but he chose instead to lock himself in the church.»

Hermann Glettler has been Bishop of Innsbruck since 2017. From 1997–2017, he was pastor in the parish of Graz St. Andrä. Behind his church, the young Eisenberger was able to use a shelter as an open-air studio. In 2007, Eisenberger fasted in silence for 40 days on the church gallery – it was an experience that deeply influenced him and that he later expanded upon with a performance symbolizing the resurrection at Art Cologne in 2009.

http://www.andrae-kunst.org/kunst.html

79ef85e8 ec47 4ffa b36c 28b62e2b92ed?width=1000

Philipp Teuchtler, Art collector

«If something is valuable, it is hidden behind plexiglass or dismounted within hours. Except for Christian's cardboard figures. Either they were picked up by the garbage collector or somebody tore their heads off. People knew that they wouldn’t stay put for long. Within hours they would disappear.»

Philipp Teuchtler is a record salesman in Vienna. While his mother was accumulated cookbooks and his father coffee machines, Philipp Teuchtler started collecting street art. This interest has grown into a passion, and Teuchtler now has an extensive collection, which needs more care than he can provide. He lives in constant worry that water damage or mold could destroy these works. Teuchtler has a story behind every piece – an early morning foray, a smart trade-off, the realization that an object that no one appreciates is in fact already a work of art.

http://www.schallplatten-ankauf-wien.com

8d99b5ca 2dd2 4858 a9a0 c633657bfe33?width=1000

Christine Eisenberger, Mother

«Christian was always outside. In the brook, in the forest. He needs nature. He is a child of nature.»

Christian Eisenbergers parents Christine Eisenberger and Willi Eisenberger run a small farm in Semriach . In the past, Christine Eisenberger used to receive guests for holiday on the farm; Willi Eisenberger worked at the paper mill nearby, where Christian Eisenberger later completed a locksmith apprenticeship. In the meadows and forest belonging to the farm, Christian Eisenberger works on countless installations and performances out of public view.

http://www.semriach.at

7a88bd4d dc57 48e8 926c eb5765cbe8a7?width=1000

Dr. Grete Müller, art historian

«That's, of course, the million-dollar question, "What is art?" I used to think a lot about it, but in the end, I gave up pursuing the question because there are just so many answers. I have moved on to the position of viewing art as what gives me aesthetic enjoyment, things that engage me.»

Dr. Grete Müller Dr. Grete Müller holds a doctorate in art history and art criticism. In addition to regular publications in Art, Parnassus, etc., Müller also organizes interdisciplinary workshops, such as the "Interdisciplinary Symposium for Artists and Academics within the ArtPRO doctoral program", University of Hanover. Müller works as a freelance curator and lives in Düsseldorf and Maribor.

44efc5a1 1bd3 46a2 bb98 60b48b092013?width=1000

Ursula Krinzinger, Gallery owner

«This split that most artists experience – on one side their work and on the other the art market - is actually terrible. Because it's about money, it's about worth, interesting collectors, and superficial investors. But we need to have the art trade and the retail side or you can't help the artist along.»

Ursula Krinzinger betreibt ihre Galerie an mehreren Standorten in Wien und unterhält Künstler-Residenzen im Ausland. Mit ihrem Team ist sie rund um den Globus auf allen relevanten Kunst-messen präsent. Sie vertritt Christian Eisenberger seit 2013 und koordiniert seine Ausstellungen überall, wo Christian Eisenberger ausstellt.  

http://www.galerie-krinzinger.at

94abce42 d3ec 4262 a9e0 e3c026877e8d?width=1000

Sandro Droschl, Curator

«Christian Eisenberger's work and personality are expressed through his resolve and gestures and an almost permanent production process. But this is also dangerous — because the pursuit of clear artistic strategies may suffer as a result.»

Sandro Droschl was in charge of several artistic projects like for Steirischer Herbst, the Kunsthaus Graz, the Diagonale Film Festival and the Museums¬quartiert Vienna. As director of Künstlerhaus Graz he featured there Eisenberger's first big museum show in 2014, where he opposed two diametrically opposed artists in the exhibition "André Butzer/Christian Eisenberger".

https://www.km-k.at

D297de84 5888 4067 9852 4110b14d121e?width=1000

Philipp Konzett, Art dealer/gallery owner

«I think that people actually deal with art on a daily basis within their lives: Even cooking can be an artform. Art is intrinsically connected with life.»

Philipp Konzett is an art dealer and gallery owner in Vienna. He possesses a large collection of work from the Viennese Actionism movement as well as by Franz West. His gallery represented Christian Eisenberger from 2008–2014.  

http://www.artkonzett.com

B22d5dff 87fb 4f28 8714 326b047ff18c?width=1000

Brigitte Kowanz, Artist

«It is certainly not enough to create good art. Success also has to do with the network that an artist has – or does not have. This network comprises curators, galleries, museum people, and also the collectors who accompany you. And, of course, the recipient. A large number of people are involved in the artist persona in order to allow an artist's career to flourish.»

Brigitte Kowanz is an artist and professor for Transmedia Art at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. Since 1980 the core of her work focuses on the relation of space and light. Together with Erwin Wurm, she represented Austria at the 2017 Venice Art Biennale.

http://kowanz.com/de

01534b24 e7a7 4577 a7d7 eae44dada4c3?width=1000

Gernot Schulz, Art collector

«Someone who does not know Christian Eisenberger will probably be disturbed by the density of sculptures, works of art, and everyday objects that can be found in his studio. There is no separation between where he lives, works, sleeps, or cooks. I know people who went there and said: It's too much for me, it’s too full – I don't know what I saw there.»

Gernot Schulz is an engineer and art collector in Vienna. He has repeatedly procured properties meant for demolition so that artists from Eisenberger's environment can use them as inexpensive studios. Schulz maintains the Kunstnetzwerk initiative, which operates various exhibition showrooms in Vienna and Krems.

http://kunstnetzwerk.org

7627598d 83cb 4d06 a7ac 51dbe09ab4c5?width=1000

Hercli Bundi

Hercli Bundi is the director and mostly works in the background. In certain situations, however, he steps into the spotlight. When in front of the camera, Eisenberger often addresses Bundi directly  and a dialogue between the observed and the observer ensues.  

Eisenberger: «So, do you know what art is? Can you tell me?»

Bundi: «Yes, of course. When you frame it, hang it on the wall and can sleep underneath it without continually waking up paralyzed with fear, then it's art. And if I think I'd like to do it by myself but I lack the confidence to do it, then it’s art too.»

Eisenberger: «Aha, interesting, great explanation!»

http://www.mirafilm.ch

Director

87511560 18ae 4537 a347 b172f572099d?width=1000

Hercli Bundi was born in 1964 in Glarus. From 1988 to 1992 he studied film directing and producing at the Ecole cantonale d'art in Lausanne. Together with Vadim Jendreyko he founded in 2002 the production company Mira Film. Fromt 2007 to 2010 he worked in addition as a producer at the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste / Master of Arts in Films. As a director Hercli Bundi is interested in the interface between society and art. In his films with Christian Eisenberger ("Eisenberger – Art must be beautiful, as the frog says to the fly" 2018), Ai Weiwei ("The House in the Park", 2010) or Not Vital ("Not Vital - half Man, half Animal", 2000) he is looking for a personal but yet critical access to dominant protagonists. He wants to open a particular insight into their creativity. As a producer and dramaturg Hercli Bundi is enthusiastic about films with a love of cinematic form that appeal to a wide audience.

More about the director HERE

Eisenberger

«Anyone can do what artists do, but not everyone does it and that's the small difference, to my mind.»

Directors's Note

«Is it art or garbage?»

Theme

«Art is just a label without any real relevance»

What is Art

««Art is what artists do.» Brigitte Kowanz»

Art Quotes

«Art washes away from the soul, the dust of everyday life. Pablo Picasso»

Technical Details

Resolution
HD
Format
DCP
Duration
94min
Aspect Ratio
16:9
Color
Yes
Year
2018
Original Language
German
Subtitles
English
Country
Switzerland
ISAN
0000-0004-BC87-0000-E-0000-0000-W

Credits

With

Christian Eisenberger

And

Sandro Droschl, Brigitte Kowanz, Philipp Konzett, Ursula Krinzinger, Gernot Schulz, Christine Eisenberger, Willi Eisenberger, Bischof Hermann Glettler, Julian Riess, Grete Müller, Philipp Teuchtler, Manfred Wiplinger, Joachim Vötter, Johann Loibl, Peter Kozek, Mathias Lehner, Raimo Rudi Rumpler, Hieronymus

Script & Director

Hercli Bundi

Montage

Nela Märki

Camera

Adrian Stähli

Aurelio Buchwalder

Christian Eisenberger

Hercli Bundi

Sound

Patrick Becker

Mathias Hefel

Hercli Bundi

Music

Daniel Almada

Sound Design

Daniel Almada

Dominik Avenwedde

Nela Märki

Producer

Peter Zwierko

Associate Producer

Hercli Bundi

Vadim Jendreyko

Marketing & Outreach

Susanne Guggenberger

Online, DCP, Grading

Andromeda Film

Patrick Lindenmaier

Tonmischung

Daniel Almada

Mischung

Dominik Avenwedde

In coproduction with

SRF - Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen

Editor SRF

Urs Augstburger

Denise Chervet

With financial support of

Bundesamt für Kultur

Fachausschuss Film und Medienkunst BS/BL

Zürcher Filmstiftung

Kulturfonds Suissimage

UBS Kulturstiftung

Kulturförderung Kanton Graubünden

Fondation Suisa

EISENBERGER

A propos du film

Synopsis

L’art, c’est juste une étiquette sans importance, dit l’artiste autrichien Christian Eisenberger. A 40 ans, il a créé plus de 45’000 oeuvres, dont des milliers ont été abandonnées par lui-même dans des rues ou sur des places publiques. Sa production est si exubérante que Christian Eisenberger se soustrait même au contrôle des galeries, des foires et des musées. Dans un milieu où l’on lutte inlassablement pour la reconnaissance et l’attention, la question se pose: En quoi consiste réellement la liberté artistique? Les artistes sont-ils vraiment indispensables?

Avec

Christian Eisenberger

Christian Eisenberger

L'artiste autrichien sur la question : Qu'est-ce que l'art ?

« L'art est un prétexte pour la société. On a l'art, on a la religion. On dispose de telle ou telle étiquette. Alors que tout le monde veut faire voler ces étiquettes en éclats! »

http://christianeisenberger.com

Hermann Glettler, Bischof in Innsbruck/Tirol

Hermann Glettler, Bischof in Innsbruck/Tirol

« Il a eu un jour cette phrase : „J’aimerais consciemment rater ici tout pendant 40 jours“. C’est une position inverse que la course après les événements et aventures dans laquelle nous sommes tous propulsés. Il n’a pas créé cette activité comme un acte religieux, mais elle a cependant eu automatiquement une très grande profondeur spirituelle. Au nom de ces nombreux à courir dans tous les sens, il y en a un qui s’enferme ici. »

Hermann Gletter est évêque d’Innsbruck depuis 2017. De 1997 à 2017 il était pasteur de la paroisse de Graz St. Andrä. C’est là-bas, derrière l’église que le jeune Christian Eisenberger a pu utiliser un abri comme atelier en plein air. En 2007 Christian Eisenberger a vécu pendant 40 jours dans le silence et le jeûne sur la galerie de l’église - une expérience qui l’a marqué profondément et qu’il a étendu à l’occasion de la Art Cologne en la faisant ressusciter à travers une performance.

http://www.andrae-kunst.org/kunst.html

Philipp Teuchtler, Sammler

Philipp Teuchtler, Sammler

« Quand quelque chose est précieux, en l’espace de quelques heures c’est placé sous du plexiglas ou démonté. Ce n’est pas le cas des personnages en carton de Christian. Soit le camion poubelle est passé, soit quelqu’un a arraché les têtes. On savait que ça ne resterait pas longtemps. Les choses disparaissaient en l’espace de quelques heures. »

Philipp Teuchtler est vendeur de disques à Vienne. Pendant que sa mère amassait les livres de cuisine et son père les machines à café, Philipp Teuchtler commença à collectionner des œuvres de street art. De cet instinct de collectionneur sont nées une passion et une collection importante. Philipp Teuchtler vit constamment dans la peur qu’un dégât des eaux ou de moisissure pourrait détruire son trésor. Derrière chaque œuvre il y a une histoire, une balade matinale, un échange intelligent, la prise de conscience, qu’un objet que personne n’apprécie est en vérité déjà une œuvre d’art.  

http://www.schallplatten-ankauf-wien.com

Christine Eisenberger, maire

Christine Eisenberger, maire

«Le Christian a toujours été en route dehors. Dans le ruisseau, la forêt. Il a besoin de la nature. Il est proche de la nature.»

Les parents de Christian Eisenberger, Christine Eisenberger et Willi Eisenberger exploitent une petite ferme à Semriach. Auparavant la mère s’occupait de vacanciers pendant que le père était employé dans la fabrique de papier tout près, et où Christian Eisenberger lui-même avait effectué un apprentissage de serrurier. Dans les prairies et les forêts à côté de la ferme, Christian Eisenberger réalise d’innombrables installations et performances à l’écart du public.  

http://www.semriach.at

Dr. Grete Müller, essayiste

Dr. Grete Müller, essayiste

«Auparavant je réfléchissais beaucoup à ce qu’est l’art, mais finalement j’ai cessé d’y penser, parce qu’il y a un nombre infini de réponses. A présent je me suis mis à considérer comme de l’art ce qui m’occupe et me procure un plaisir artistique. »

Dr. Grete Müller est diplômée en histoire de l’art et critique d’art.  A côté de publications périodiques dans Art, Parnass etc., Grete Müller organise des workshops interdisciplinaires comme le symposium interdisciplinaire pour artistes et scientifiquesdans le cadre du programme de promotion ArtPRO, Université d’Hanovre. Grete Müller vit comme curatrice indépendante à Dusseldorf et Maribor.

Ursula Krinzinger, galeriste

Ursula Krinzinger, galeriste

« La majorité des artistes connaît ce clivage: d'un côté, le travail; de l'autre, le marché de l'art qui, à dire vrai, fonctionne d'une façon effrayante.Car il s'agit d'argent, de valeur monétaire, de merveilleux collectionneurs et d'investisseurs superficiels. Mais le marché de l'art est nécessaire, parce que sinon, il n'est pas possible de faire progresser les artistes. »

Ursula Krinzinger exploite sa galerie sur différents sites à Vienne et s’occupe de résidences d’artistes à l’étranger. Avec son équipe elle est à toutes les foires d’art pertinentes à travers le monde. Elle représente Christian Eisenberger depuis 2013 et coordonne ses expositions partout où il expose.

http://www.galerie-krinzinger.at

Sandro Droschl, directeur de musée

Sandro Droschl, directeur de musée

« Le travail et la personnalité de Christian Eisenberger vivent de la volonté et du geste de produire pratiquement en permanence. Ceci représente néanmoins également une menace, parce que la poursuite de stratégies artistiques claires peut en compatir. »

Sandro Droschl a mené à bien différents projets culturels, entre autres pour le Steirischer Herbst Festival et le musée d'art de Graz, le Festival du Film Diagonale et le MuseumsQuartier Wien. En tant que directeur de la Maison d’artistes de Graz, il a confronté en 2014 avec l’exposition AndréButzer / Christian Eisenberger deux artistes complètement opposés et ainsi présenté la première grande exposition muséale de Christian Eisenberger.

https://www.km-k.at

Philipp Konzett, galeriste/marchand d'art

Philipp Konzett, galeriste/marchand d'art

« Je suis d’avis que les personnes, même si elles prétendent ne pas s’intéresser à l’art, s’y confrontent bien dans leur vie. Même la cuisine peut être de l’art. L’art est en général lié à la vie.»

Philipp Konzett est marchand d’art et galeriste à Vienne. Il dispose d’une importante collection de l’actionnisme viennois et de Franz West. Avec sa galerie il a représenté Christian Eisenberger de 2008 à 2014.

http://www.artkonzett.com

Brigitte Kowanz, artiste

Brigitte Kowanz, artiste

« Faire de l’art de qualité ne suffit sûrement pas. C’est évidemment aussi dépendant du réseau dont l’artiste dispose ou pas. Et bien sûr aussi des destinataires. La personnalité de l’artiste est composée de nombreuses personnes qui interagissent afin que la carrière artistique puisse se développer. »

Brigitte Kowanz est artiste et professeur d’art transmédias à l’université des arts appliqués de Vienne. Depuis les années 80 la recherche sur l’espace et la lumière est au centre de son travail. Avec Erwin Wurm elle a représenté l’Autriche à la Biennale de Venise en 2017.

http://kowanz.com/de

Julian Riess, industriel

Julian Riess, industriel

« L'art vous mène à de nouvelles limites de la perception. Plus on se penche sur la question, plus l'horizon s'élargit et plus on s'enrichit. C'est passionnant. Il n'y a aucune limite. »

Julian Riess est copropriétaire de la traditionnelle fabrique de casseroles Riess à Ybsitz / Autriche. Cette manufacture invite régulièrement des designers et créateurs à dessiner des lignes de produits modernes, ainsi Christian Eisenberger. Lors de deux séjours dans la fabrique Riess, celui-ci s’est concentré sur les processus considérés comme tabous pour le personnel de Riess: des bosses sur les casseroles, des écailles dans l’émail, des marques de doigts, des coups de marteau. Après l’intervention d’Eisenberger, les objets travaillés par lui ont été repris par le personnel Riess avec le soin habituel et le processus de fabrication traditionnel – comme s’il s’agissait de casseroles normales.  

http://www.riess.at

Gernot Schulz, collectionneur

Gernot Schulz, collectionneur

« Quelqu’un qui ne connaît pas Christian Eisenberger sera probablement troublé par la densité que présente son atelier, en sculptures, œuvres d’art et objets de tous les jours. On ne peut pas séparer là où il vit de là où il travaille, dort ou fait la cuisine. Je connais des personnes qui y sont allées et qui ont dit : c’est beaucoup trop rempli pour moi, je ne sais pas ce que j’ai vu ici. »

Gernot Schulz est ingénieur et collectionneur d’art à Vienne. A plusieurs reprises il a mis à disposition des immeubles désaffectés à des artistes dans l’entourage de Christian Eisenberger, afin que ceux-ci puissent y aménager des ateliers bon marché. Gernot Schulz soutient l’initiative Kunstnetzwerk qui exploite différents espaces d’exposition à Vienne et Krems.  

http://kunstnetzwerk.org

Hercli Bundi, Réalisation

Hercli Bundi, Réalisation

Hercli Bundi est le réalisateur dans l’arrière-plan. Dans certaines situations il entre néanmoins lui-même en action. Souvent Christian Eisenberger s’adresse directement au réalisateur devant la caméra. Régulièrement le dialogue s’installe entre l’observé et l’observateur.  

Eisenberger: « Toi, tu sais ce que c'est, l'art? Tu peux me le dire ? »

Bundi: « Oui, bien-sûr. Quand tu l'encadres, le suspends au mur et que tu peux dormir avec ton lit à côté sans te réveiller constamment paralysé de peur, alors, c'est de l'art. Et si j'aimerais bien le faire moi-même, mais que je n'ose pas, c'est aussi de l'art. »

Eisenberger: « Ah, une formidable explication. »

http://www.mirafilm.ch

Réalisation

Réalisation

Hercli Bundi est né en 1964 à Glaris. De 1988 à 1992, il a fait ses études de cinéma à l'Ecole cantonale d'art de Lausanne. En 2002, il a fondé avec Vadim Jendreyko la société de production Mira Film. De 2007 à 2010, il a également travaillé à la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHdK) en tant que directeur de production dans le cadre du programme Master of Arts in Film. En tant que metteur en scène, Hercli Bundi se penche sur l'interface entre la société et l'art. Dans ses films avec Christian Eisenberger ("Eisenberger - Kunst muss sein schön sein, sagt der Frosch zur Fliege" 2018), Ai Weiwei ("The House in the Park", 2010) ou Not Vital ("Not Vital - half Man, half Animal", 2000) il trouve une approche personnelle et critique vis-à-vis des protagonistes et ouvre de nouvelles perspectives sur leurs travaux. En tant que producteur et dramaturge, il est fasciné par les films qui s'adressent à un large public tout en défendant une style cinématographique.

Plus d'infos sur le réalisateur içi

Fiche technique

Résolution
HD
Format
DCP
Durée
94min
Rapport d'aspect
16:9
Couleur
Oui
Année
2018
Langue originale
Allemand
Sous-titres
Français, Anglais
Pays
Suisse
ISAN
0000-0004-BC87-0000-E-0000-0000-W

Générique

Avec

Christian Eisenberger

et

Sandro Droschl, Brigitte Kowanz, Philipp Konzett, Ursula Krinzinger, Gernot Schulz, Christine Eisenberger, Willi Eisenberger, Bischof Hermann Glettler, Julian Riess, Grete Müller, Philipp Teuchtler, Manfred Wiplinger, Joachim Vötter, Johann Loibl, Peter Kozek, Mathias Lehner, Raimo Rudi Rumpler, Hieronymus

Réalisation

Hercli Bundi

Montage

Nela Märki

Caméra

Adrian Stähli

Aurelio Buchwalder

Christian Eisenberger

Hercli Bundi

Son

Patrick Becker

Mathias Hefel

Hercli Bundi

Musique

Daniel Almada

Sound Design

Daniel Almada

Dominik Avenwedde

Nela Märki

Production

Peter Zwierko

Associate Producer

Hercli Bundi

Vadim Jendreyko

Marketing & Outreach

Susanne Guggenberger

Online, DCP, Grading

Andromeda Film

Patrick Lindenmaier

Mixage

Daniel Almada

Dominik Avenwedde

En coproduction avec

SRF - Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen

Rédaction SRF

Urs Augstburger

Denise Chervet

Avec le soutien financier de

Bundesamt für Kultur

Fachausschuss Film und Medienkunst BS/BL

Zürcher Filmstiftung

Kulturfonds Suissimage

UBS Kulturstiftung

Kulturförderung Kanton Graubünden

Fondation Suisa