EISENBERGER

The Artist Christian Eisenberger

Eisenberger

F7a5e302 2a72 45e2 9834 d9a3764ae6c1?width=1000

Christian Eisenberger was born in 1978 in Semriach in Styria (Austria). He lives and works in Semriach and Vienna. After a locksmith apprenticeship, Christian Eisenberger studied painting at the Ortweinschule in Graz in 1999. In 2000, for a short period, he attended Brigitte Kowanz’s Transmedial Art class at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna.

His cardboard figures received early attention, and he distributed more than 9,900 of these works on streets and in public squares worldwide. Eisenberger still works with cardboard, adhesive tape, and waste material, but he also now uses other possible materials and mediums: he effortlessly moves between painting, sculpture, video, performance, street art, and land art. His way of working is characterized by intemperance, the pleasure to work, tempo, and coincidence. Through constant repetition, he is perpetually creating new series. Despite all abstraction, the human being remains a recurring motif.

In 2002, Christian Eisenberger opened "K2", a tiny exhibition space, in a flower bed in the village center of Semriach. There he exhibited miniature works of art created by artist friends.

The art industry in Vienna became fully aware of Eisenberger when he taped self-printed posters on the windows of established galleries before important vernissages. Fans had already started to systematically take Eisenberger's cardboard figures from the streets to collect them and to sell them.

"Although I always paint the same head, it is never the same head. There are always differences and I find that exciting".

Christian Eisenberger

As of 2006, Eisenberger was exhibiting in art galleries. He achieved success during art fairs through exhibitions with gallery owners Viktor Bucher and Philipp Konzett. Since 2013, Eisenberger has been represented by the Viennese gallery Krinzinger.

"The studio is the size of an indoor tennis center with thousands, if not tens of thousands, of artworks. But it also has a table at which he works. There are all kinds of paintings on the floor. He pours something on them, an acid or something similar, that eats up the painting and gives it a new design. If I had a little money, I would buy the whole studio exactly as it is, buy everything, then close it, and leave it that way for at least a hundred years".

Nicola von Senger, Gallery Owner and Art Collector, Zürich

http://christianeisenberger.com

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_Eisenberger

26d7d72e 6db2 49f7 a9fa 90c77e070b28?width=1000

More Stories

EISENBERGER

Der Künstler Christian Eisenberger

Eisenberger

F7a5e302 2a72 45e2 9834 d9a3764ae6c1?width=1000

Christian Eisenberger wurde 1978 in Semriach in der Steiermark (Österreich) geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Semriach und in Wien.

Nach einer Schlosserlehre studierte Christian Eisenberger 1999 Malerei an der Ortweinschule in Graz.

Ab 2000 besuchte er kurze Zeit die Klasse für Transmediale Kunst bei Brigitte Kowanz an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien. Frühe Aufmerksamkeit erlangten seinen Kartonfiguren, von denen er weltweit über 9900 Stück auf Strassen und Plätzen verteilte. Karton, Klebeband und Abfallmaterial nutzt Christian Eisenberger bis heute, wobei er sich auch jedes andere Material aneignet: Mühelos wechselt er zwischen Malerei, Skulptur, Video, Performance, Street-Art und Land-Art. Seine Arbeitsweise ist geprägt von Zügellosigkeit, Arbeitslust, Tempo und Zufall. Durch stetige Repetition entstehen ständig neue Serien. Bei aller Abstraktion bleibt der Mensch ein immer wiederkehrendes Motiv.

2002 eröffnete Christian Eisenberger mit der Kunsthalle "K2" in einer Blumenrabatte in der Dorfmitte von Semriach einen Ausstellungsraum von der Grösse eines Schuhkartons, wo er Minikunstwerke von befreundeten KünstlerInnen ausstellte.

Der Kunstbetrieb in Wien wurde spätestens in dem Moment auf Christian Eisenberger aufmerksam, als dieser vor wichtigen Vernissagen die Schaufenster etablierter Galerien mit selbstgedruckten Plakaten zuklebte. Bereits früher hatten Fans begonnen, Eisenbergers Kartonfiguren systematisch von den Strassen abzuräumen, zu sammeln und zu verkaufen.

"Obwohl ich immer den gleichen Kopf male, ist es nie der gleiche Kopf. Da gibt es immer Unterschiede und das finde ich spannend." Christian Eisenberger

Ab 2006 stellte Christian Eisenberger selbst in Galerien aus. Messe-Erfolge stellten sich durch Ausstellungen mit den Galeristen Viktor Bucher und Philipp Konzett ein. Seit 2013 wird Christian Eisenberger von der Wiener Galerie Krinzinger vertreten.

"Das Atelier ist ein tennishallengrosser Raum mit tausenden, wenn nicht zehntausenden von Werken. Aber es hat auch einen Tisch, an dem er arbeitet. Auf dem Boden sind irgendwelche Bilder. Dort schüttet er was drauf, eine Säure oder so, die das Bild zerfrisst und dem Bild eine neue Zeichnung gibt. Wenn ich ein bisschen Geld hätte, dann würde ich das ganze Studio, genau so wie es ist, alles kaufen, verschliessen und mindestens hundert Jahre so lassen."

Nicola von Senger, Galerist und Kunstsammler in Zürich

http://christianeisenberger.com

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_Eisenberger

26d7d72e 6db2 49f7 a9fa 90c77e070b28?width=1000

Weitere Artikel