EISENBERGER

Where does artistic freedom begin and where does it end?

Theme

Through Austrian artist Christian Eisenberger we experience the daily pressures felt by artists to be unique and to live up to the expectations of others. We see how art is created, how the concept of art is extended beyond all limits, and what drives the art market. At the age of 40, the Austrian artist has created more than 45,000 works of art. Galleries, art fairs, and museums exhibit his art and set the prices. In order to challenge this system, the artist is not afraid to destroy his own work. With great pleasure he observes how art comes into being haphazardly, and how his exuberant creativity not only surprises his audience, but, foremost, himself.

Eisenberger's cardboard figures received attention early on in his career. He exhibited over 9,000 of these figures on streets and in public squares, where anyone could collect them. His land art installations are equally fascinating. Without an audience, Eisenberger creates fragile sculptures and pictures out of grasses, pine cones, smoke, or ice around his parents' farm in Semriach.

Eisenberger's work opens up a kaleidoscopic cosmos in which the passion of a bishop meets the curiosity of a factory worker, and in which the fanatism of his fans for collecting his work renders the criticism of curators irrelevant.

Art is just a label without any real relevance, says Christian Eisenberger. In the showdown between Eisenberger, his admirers and his critics, a realm that struggles for attention and recognition emerges. The interpretation of a work of art often seems more important than the work itself. In this kind of setting the artist can only exist if he consistently follows his own path.

More Stories

EISENBERGER

Wo beginnt die künstlerische Freiheit und wo endet sie?

Filmthema

Mit dem österreichischen Künstler Christian Eisenberger erleben wir, was es bedeutet, jeden Tag einmalig sein zu müssen und Erwartungen zu bedienen. Wir sehen, wie Kunst entsteht, wie der Kunstbegriff über alle Grenzen hinaus erweitert wird und was den Kunstmarkt antreibt. Mit 40 Jahren hat der Österreicher über 45'000 Werke geschaffen. Galerien, Kunstmessen und Museen stellen ihn aus und bestimmen die Preise. Um dieses System herauszufordern, schreckt der Künstler nicht davor zurück, eigene Arbeiten zu zerstören. Mit grosser Lust beobachtet er, wie aus Zufall Kunst entsteht und sein überbordendes Schaffen nicht nur sein Publikum überrascht, sondern auch ihn selbst.

Frühe Aufmerksamkeit genossen Eisenbergers Kartonfiguren. Über 9'000 Stück stellte er auf Strassen und Plätzen aus, wo jeder sie einsammeln konnte. Ebenso faszinierend sind seine Land-Art-Installationen. Ganz ohne Publikum schafft Eisenberger rund um den Bauernhof seiner Eltern in Semriach aus Gräsern, Tannenzapfen, Rauch oder Eis fragile Skulpturen und Bilder.

Eisenbergers Werk eröffnet einen kaleidoskopischen Kosmos, in dem die Passion eines Bischofs auf die Neugier eines Fabrikarbeiters trifft und wo die Sammelwut seiner Fans die Kritik von Kuratoren ins Leere laufen lässt.

Kunst ist nur eine Etikette ohne jede Relevanz, sagt Christian Eisenberger. Im Kräftemessen zwischen Christian Eisenberger, seinen Bewunderern und seinen Kritikern entfaltet sich ein Milieu, das um Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung ringt. Die Interpretation eines Werks scheint oft wichtiger, als das Kunstobjekt selbst. Als Künstler kann hier nur bestehen, wer konsequent seinen Weg geht

Weitere Artikel